Night of Distinguished Professionals

Written by Pauline Lively

The event known as the Night of Distinguished Professionals began in 2003 with the College of Justice & Safety honoring Dr. Kathleen Hawk Sawyer, Director of the Federal Bureau of Prisons, for lifetime achievement and meritorious service in the field of corrections.  It later expanded to an entire evening dedicated to recognizing alumni and other individuals who have made significant contributions in the areas of justice and safety at the local, state, regional, national or international level.  In recent years, the College has added awards for faculty, students, and staff whose steadfast commitment to excellence in teaching, scholarship, and service is evident in all they do.  

The distinguished men and women who will be recognized during the 2014 Night of Distinguished Professionals are listed below.

Distinguished Professional Award                                                          
Clark “Bud” Orr, Sr., Chairman, Orr Corporation                                 

Distinguished Alumnus Award
Mark Barnard, Assistant Chief, Lexington Division of Police

Dean’s Award
Teresa James, Commissioner, Kentucky Department of Community Based Services

Distinguished Faculty Award
Terry Kline, School of Safety, Security & Emergency Management
James Wells, School of Justice Studies

STAR Award (Staff)
Toni Wells, Human Resources Consultant, Office of the Dean

Distinguished Undergraduate Award
Hoai Robinette, School of Justice Studies
Autumn Stout, School of Safety, Security & Emergency Management

Distinguished Graduate Student
William McClanahan, School of Justice Studies (co-recipient)
Jennifer Tilley, School of Justice Studies (co-recipient)
Corey Hanks, School of Safety, Security & Emergency Management

Published on March 28, 2014